Good Music logo
Customer reviews
The Best of Jim Reeves Live In
                Concert

5 stars
The REAL Jim Reeves
By A Music Fan on March 13, 2015

Verified Purchase
I can certainly appreciate historical audio restoration and preservation. Voicemasters had their work cut out for them with the variance in sound quality of six different Jim Reeves' concert settings over a period of five years. I can say in all honesty, Voicemasters met the challenge to produce a voiceMASTERFUL showcase for some very rare and insightful Jim Reeves performances. The songs may be familiar but the presentation will be fresh and new to the listener...even just a little bit "telling" on the Reeves personality. The "noisy" club venue was more of an endurance test than a concert for Jim and the Blue Boys. You can hear a bit of tension in his voice as everything seems to be going wrong, from a rowdy, inattentive crowd to his out-of-tune-guitar, but he forges on to make the best of the situation. This is really a very entertaining CD and will give you the best peak at Reeves' spontaneity and showmanship. It is simply titled, "Live In Concert The Best of Jim Reeves" from Voicemasters.
5 stars
Another amazing CD of unreleased new material with superior sound quality
By Shevanthi Perera on March 24, 2015

Verified Purchase
Another amazing CD of unreleased new material with superior sound quality. For those of us who never had the opportunity to see Jim or hear him perform in concerts indoors or outdoors, this masterpiece of Jim playing in six different venues with three different sets of band members over a period of five years is the next best thing to listen to and imagine that you are sitting at the front row of the hall.

His breathtaking voice so eloquent and silky could not be drowned even under the worst of circumstances, rain, or the screaming crowds. Rather, it soothed his listeners to their cores and his personality shines through in live performances more than studio recordings. His mellifluous voice that echoes in his studio recordings is even more lavishly displayed in these live settings with clear, rich audio and he is never out of tune.

This is Jim Reeves who has the ability to reach out and touch the audience in powerful ways; who can concoct a story on the spot with his ever so rich booming voice and a man who knows how sweet a song can sound.

Thanks to Larry Jordan for another superb CD. It was an enjoyment to listen to these live versions of my favorite songs. It is always nice to hear Jim 's voice at a different angle, in a different setting and sometimes in crazy circumstances as well! Thanks also to the VM's dedicated talented team who worked on these tracks to skillfully remaster them and for the audio restoration which spelled out the wonderful music.
Another priceless gem from Gentleman Jim
By Tom Croteau on March 28, 2015

Verified Purchase

Voicemasters never cease to amaze me! Just when you think you've heard the best of Jim Reeves you can possibly hear, another gift for the ears is presented.
I love this CD. Even in crowded, noisy venues, Jim's voice and personality are clearly the star.
The loving care and respect for this man that is evident in every Voicemaster release, is undeniably present here. As a Jim Reeves fan for over 40 years, I feel so blessed to be able to have witnessed the arrival of someone on the scene who cares enough about his fans to share, not hoard, these treasure troves of recordings.
Thanks Larry Jordan and Voicemasters for yet another wonderful listening experience from Gentleman Jim Reeves.
Great to hear you "live" again, Jim!
By Doris Gath on March 13, 2015

I received my copy of this new CD in the mail today and just finished listening to it. It is almost as good as being there. It brings back a lot of good memories hearing Jim perform live as I was a friend of his and saw him perform so much. No matter the situation at a performance Jim still sang well and never went out of sync or out of tune. There was a heckler at a performance that I attended and Jim handled the situation very well. He got a big hand when he did shut the heckler up.

This Jim Reeves Live in Concert CD is a must for Jim Reeves fans. It shows him as a human being making the most of any situation, not just a voice on a record. I love hearing the Lump-Lump Boys again!

4 stars
Jim Reeves Live is Delightful
By Azure Eel on March 26, 2015

Verified Purchase
I was not fortunate to hear Jim Reeves live in concert as he died when I was an infant,so a CD of him live in concert is the next best thing for me.This CD brings him almost back to life for a time while listening to it and it reveals his personality and professionalism in ways not heard on a mere studio recording.I am glad I could hear this recording and it is a "must have"for a true fan of Jim Reeves.It is delightful.Absolutely delightful.
5
                                stars
You need this in your collection
By Paul Mechem on March 28, 2015
Verified Purchase
Anytime you pick up a live cd of Jim Reeves you know you are in for a treat and this cd is no exception. Considering the age and source of material the quality is top notch ( as you would expect from Voicemasters) and a very informative glossy booklet completes the package.
The highlight of the disc is material from the "Elko" show but really every track is a 5 star track.
A must-have addition to any collection.
5
                                stars
Another fantastic release from VoiceMasters
By Dean on March 28, 2015
Verified Purchase
Even though I had copies of the concerts, the audio of the Elko and Rac's Hut show was not all that good. How wonderful to finally hear parts of the shows in much improved audio. There is also an interesting interview that Hugh Downs did with Jim Reeves. Reeves' responses to the questions were very interesting. Where else would you hear material like this, in such good audio quality, than from VoiceMasters. Another fantastic release from VM I would recommend to any fan of Jim Reeves.

5
                                stars
Different than in the studio, and maybe better
By Gary Bryson on April 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
I just received my copy and listened. I love it. As wonderful as some of his records made in Studio B were, and still are, I think I have decided that I like hearing Jim live in concert more than in studio. The concert with the Nashville Symphony is superb. I love the concert at Chambersburg, PA. I love hearing Jim talk to the audiences and to his band. The renditions of "I Love You Because" and "Adios Amigo" he did in Stockholm are the best I have heard him do. He seemed to have a bit more "bassey" sound on those songs than I have noticed before, even though the key might have been the same as in other renderings. And Jim really was at his best hitting those low notes.

The only thing about the CD that I wish was improved was the audio quality of the recording of Jim and the Lump Lump Boys. And I realize Larry had no control over that. I also wish there was a video of that because we don't get the full effect of the comedy just from the audio.

Overall, a very enjoyable CD that I am happy to have in my collection, and that I would recommend to any Jim Reeves fan.
2 stars
Live Jim
By Peter Joiner on April 18, 2015
Verified Purchase
Always nice to hear something different, a must for die hard fans and a good introduction of the live Jim Reeves to upcoming fans. A very good reproduction of 50 plus year old recordings.
5 stars
One of the best "live" CDs by any artist in my collection
By Jim Thomas on July 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
I have a special passion for collecting CDs of live performances by a lot of artists. They vary widely in quality. Some of the Elvis ones that have been put out there are barely listenable, but then, it's Elvis, so I guess the record labels can get by with it. Same with Hank Williams. Some really awful stuff by him is on the market. Oftentimes labels don't bother to try to improve the sound, they leave the muffled sound or a lot of pops or clicks. As a Jim Reeves fan of several decades I had heard a few of these songs that have been traded among diehard collectors, and often wished I could find copies that had better sound quality. But I never dreamed that it was possible anybody would ever come up with audio this GREAT! Not only are old tunes made to sound crystal clear, but there is a lot of fresh material on her (19 new tracks by my count, that have never appeared anyway). This has GOT to be one of the very best collections of live performances, and by one of the consummate artists of all time. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!
5 stars
This is how it should be done
By David Axel on September 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
So often when you hear live recordings, the engineers have used heavy-handed noise reduction so that it cuts off the higher frequencies and the sound ends up being very thin and unreal. But whoever did the engineering on this CD knows what he's doing!!!! The balance of tone, the richness and clearness of every song is very impressive to hear...and quite thrilling. I would say this rates as one of the finest live recording sets available.
5 stars
What a thrill to hear Jim doing comedy and also other Blue Boys
By Bill Thompson on December 15, 2015
Verified Purchase
Having read Larry Jordon's fine biography on Jim Reeves His Untold Story, I learned that my favorite singer had a lot more band members over the years, first as part of the "Wagonmasters" and later the "Blue Boys" than I had ever known about. Mostly we think of just five guys, but there were many more. This is the first time to my knowledge we get to hear some of them in live settings, and it is a real thrill. You also get to hear how Jim evolved his sound. Some of it still has shades of honky tonk and by the end he is a crooner in a league with Andy Williams or Matt Monro. On one of the segments here, you can actually hear the beer bottles being opened at the table in a noisy club, and Jim introduces members of his band I'd never heard play before. He also chides one of them rather obliquely for not playing right. The highlight of the album for me was the comedy sketch with the Lump Lump Boys that I'd read about but up to now never got to listen to. Jim Reeves introduced them and his introduction was hilarious. I never knew his comedic timing was so good. Then they do songs and interact with him. I love the color picture of Jim on the cover, dressed in a tuxedo with an ascot, and there's a picture of "Big Blue", his bus, on the back. Everything about this CD makes it a priceless and historic piece to add to your Reeves collection. I hope they do more.

5 stars
Nobody was better live
By Betsy Woodward on January 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
I was one of the fortunate fans who actually got to see Jim Reeves perform live on several occasions when I lived in Texas. The first time I saw him, I fell in love with his voice. You should have seen his big broad smile with those gleaming white teeth, and his very handsome countenance. He was very polished in his mannerisms and when he spoke or sang, his thick voice just mesmerized the crowd. It's really true you could hear a pin drop. You didn't even want to take a restroom break while Jim was on stage because you didn't want to miss even one second of him. The Blue Boys were all so talented, even though the make-up of the group changed over the years. But Jim only got better with age. This precious CD, "The Best of Jim Reeves Live In Concert" is a bittersweet experience for me; it brings back such happy memories but also sad ones too because we lost him far too soon.
4 stars
Songs on here I had not heard before
By Thom Malleck on
February 20, 2016
This is very well done. I liked everything about this CD, and was very happy to get to hear Jim sing in a variety of settings. No matter where he sang though, he always sounded great! I loved the intimacy of the noisy hotel bar, and then you contrast that with the big arena sound he had toward the end of the CD. He was just THE BEST singer that ever lived!!!!!!

5 stars
You can't go wrong
By Silvester on March 12, 2016
Verified Purchase
What's not to like about this CD? It has one of the world's greatest singerrs and a variety of talented musicians backing him, and you get to hear how he interacted with his audiences and the sound is very good. I have listened to a lot of singers who didn't sound as good in person as they did on their studio recordings, but Jim was not one of them. He was as good "live" as he was when he recorded at Studio B. Now THAT is true talent!
5 stars
WHAT A REFRESHING CD AND A REMINDER OF HOW GREAT JIM REEVES WAS
By Richard Marx on March 20, 2016
Verified Purchase
This CD was not what I expected, and I mean that in a good way. This was very informal and "real." You really got a true sense of this artist in a way that you only could if you had been fortunate enough to have attended one of his concerts. When you take an artist out of the studio and put them in front of a live crowd, anything can happen. Jim could hold an audience in the palm of his hand.......that is obvious here. He was fabulous and very personable. You would like to have him as your next door neighbor, he was very amiable. And talented galore. No one else alive today compares with him. The graet Gentleman Jim is sadly missed.
4 stars
Very good CD, highly recommended
By Mary Lawrence on March 1, 2016
A friend bought this for my birthday and I couldn't be more thrilled. I have all Jim's albums on vinyl that were released in his lifetime, including some that he autographed for a friend of mine that she bequeathed to me when she passed on. How I wish I had been able to actually see Jim perform in person but this CD is the next best thing. So well done!

5 stars
Nobody is better than the Velvet Voice Jim Reeves
By Mary Thomas on March 3, 2016
Verified Purchase
Oh what a voice! VELVET is the word to describe it. Jim Reeves could sing the phone book and make it sound wonderful. There is something hypnotic about listening to him that is simply irresistable. You won't find a bad song on this CD. Everything is great. Very good indeed.
5 stars
As close to perfection as any singer I've ever heard
By Victor Ahrens on February 14, 2016
Verified Purchase
My wife gave me this CD as a Valentine's gift and we both sat down to enjoy it before dinner...and then listened to it completely through again and ended up eating at 9 o'clock! We were so caught up in the music. We kept going back and re-listening to some of these songs a second and third and fourth time. It would be hard to pick a favorite, they were all so fine. As Cindy Walker said, "Jim couldn't sing a bad note if he tried."

5 stars
Historic and simply amazing
By Richard Anderson on January 20, 2016
Verified Purchase
There is a lot of history embodied in this CD release that I am glad has not been lost to the ages. Country music was made stronger and more popular worldwide by this man, Jim Reeves, and this CD provides a snapshot in time of what he was like on stage. No wonder he played to sold out crowds all around the world. He was one of a kind and there will never be another like him.

5 stars
The sound quality on this was surprising
By Donald Frazier on February 19, 2016
Verified Purchase
The research that it must have taken to come up with these rare recordings is incredible and I'm so thankful that this material has been found and preserved, and especially that it has been shared with the fans and not been hoarded by some of the nutty collectors. The Best of Jim Reeves-Live In Concert deserves to be heard by every country music fan.
CLICK HERE TO RETURN TO PREVIOUS PAGE
TO WRITE A REVIEW, CLICK HERE to send your comments via email for posting here