Good Music logo
Customer reviews
Sinatra the New Recordings cover

5 stars
This is absoutely the BEST recording of Frank Sinata songs I have ever heard
By Buccaneer on February 24, 2016

Verified Purchase
This is absolutely the BEST recording of Frank Sinatra songs I have ever heard. The clarity and music can not be beat, and whoever did it knows their business and how to do an overdub. They did a great service to the public. My friends who have heard it love it, and want a copy.
5 stars
Great Sound!
By Reviewer February 6, 2016

Verified Purchase
The sound on this great CD is much richer and more lifelike than the original Columbia masters. These are pretty melodies unlike a lot of what you hear today. One of the songs is surprising ("While the Angelus Was Ringing") because it is the same melody that people are familiar with called "The Three Bells" which was a big hit for the Browns (Jim Ed, Maxine and Bonnie). The versions of "London By Night" and "April In Paris" are better vocals and prettier settings here than the versions Frank re-did for Capital in later years. I enjoyed the interesting liner notes and rare photos. This is a first class product from beginning to end, by some obviously talented musicians and a good mix of tempos. In fact, I think it qualifies as the BEST release on Sinatra in a long time.
Truly Amazing
John K. George on February 9, 2016

Verified Purchase

Amazing. The vocals never sounded better. I am huge Sinatra fan, and the Columbia era had always been my least favorite. To my ears it always sounded very dated. The geniuses here lifted Sinatra's vocals, and re-recorded the orchestrations note for note in stereophonic sound which the technology just wasn't there when the songs were originally recorded. I can't get over the quality of both Frank Sinatra's vocals and the orchestrations they truly come to life. I wish the people responsible would now re-record Sinatra's entire Columbia library. This CD is a must have for any collector
I'M VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE OUTCOME
By Rudy gtorrellas on February 19, 2016

Verified Purchase
I.M VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE OUTCOME OF THESE RECORDINGS. I DO HAVE THE ORIGINAL MONAURALS.

I IMAGINE THIS WILL CONTINUE WITH MORE OF FRANK'S AND THE OTHER BALLADEERS.

4 stars
A Must-Buy for Sinatra Fans
By Mark Shaw, Burlingame California on February 9, 2016

Verified Purchase
Terrific recordings. Sinatra never sounded better. Well-packaged, very professional, a true collector's item and a must-buy for Sinatra fans.
5
                                stars
You will not be disappointed!
By David John Cole on January 11, 2016
Verified Purchase
Another great collection of overdubs that have been given a new lease of life by the producer of Elvis: The New Recordings, Larry Jordon.

These are beautifully crafted from the best musicians and singers on the world along with equally fine arrangers and producers. I cannot single out a favorite as they all are very good indeed. You will not be disappointed!

5
                                stars
Frank Sinata's Best Voice
By Bill Larson on February 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
Frank Sinatra's voice was better in his early years but the recording technology did not have the quality we have today. Combining his voice with backing by some of today's top musicians gives a fresh new sound to older songs, even those almost forgotten. A must for most Sinatra fans.
5
                                stars
This is a brilliant re-recording of some of Frank Sinatra's earlier recordings
By James McKay on March 17, 2016
Verified Purchase
I am so happy to have purchased this Frank Sinatra New recordings CD. The sound quality is brilliant as if it has just been recorded and released by Sinatra. As a Frank Sinatra fan for over fifty years I got very emotional listening to this excellent new recording CD. I would like to thank the producer and everyone involved in all their hard work in producing this outstanding CD and look forward to hearing more recordings produced in this way as the sound is just simply brilliant.
5 stars
EXCELLENT!
By R. Carter on February 25, 2016
Verified Purchase
I am a huge Sinatra fan; have all of his music, yet always find myself wishing for more. This album, The New Recordings, is like receiving a new Sinatra album when I thought there would be none. Never a great fan of most of Sinatra's Columbia work, I can honestly say that I love this release. Even though I have heard these songs over and over through the years, I can tell you that they sound better than ever here. The new orchestrations make them easier to enjoy; actually more listenable. The Columbia tracks come alive like never before. Great attention to detail and great respect for Frank Sinatra is shown.

Larry Jordan, I am a fan of your work. I love what you did with the Patsy Cline, Elvis, and Rosemary Clooney recordings, and I absolutely love this one as well. I hope you will do more Sinatra overdubs; perhaps even some that are not quite as locked to the original orchestrations. It is a joy to hear these classic artists in fresh and new settings. Well done.
5 stars
So much better than "Voice On Air"!!!!!!
By Temple LaGrande on February 9, 2016
Verified Purchase
The audio restoration on "Frank Sinatra: The New Recordings" is at least 10x better than what was done on the much-ballyhooed "Voice On Air" that contains radio material of widely varying quality and very over-rated fidelity. With "New Recordings" we hear Frank's voice rich and creamy smooth, and front and center where he belongs. The detail in the background accompaniment is amazing, and it's hard to tell what was there to begin with on the originals and what's been added. It molds together so well. This is GRAMMY AWARD WINNING WORK, folks! No doubt about it.

It must have taken a very long time for the new musicians to match the old notes, and they play in perfect synchronization. Each of these songs carries you along to the next as the album flows so smoothly. The one regret: I wish they would have done more than 18 tunes.

5 stars
Nobody has ever done this before
By Laurence Jilly
January 19, 2016
This is a totally unique concept......to take old Sinatra songs and freshen them up by not just overdubbing, but playing the same notes as the originals. It gives us a feel of what it must have been like "way back when" when these songs were done. It all sounds so perfectly natural but yet it's a far cry from how these songs have sounded when released on earlier packagings: very lifeless. I hope they do more updates like this. It's A+++++++++

1 star
Don't care for it
By A Reviewer on January 27, 2016
LEAVE THE ORIGINALS ALONE!!!!

5 stars
Kudos for everyone involved in this magnificent project
By William Foley on January 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
STUNNING! That's the word that comes to mind. As a longtime Sinatra fan I of course had heard these tracks before, but NEVER like this!!!!! It defies believably they could be made to sound this good. I don't know how they did it, but this CD is truly a revelation to me about how well F.S> could sing in the Columbia years. Up to now these tracks have been under-appreciated because we've only heard them the same old way they did in the 1940s and '50s. But why not use today's engineering technology and some great musicians to bring these songs alive. And they really are alive.....they live and breathe like never before.

4 stars
A valiant effort that for the most part pays off
By Jack Hanley on March 1, 2016

The only thing that keeps me from giving this CD a 5 star rating is I don't care for some of the songs and wish they had used others. But I have to admit all were done extremely well.

5 stars
Oh so much better than any other recent Sinatra release!
By Paul Bulow on March 3, 2016
Verified Purchase
I paid $16.95 to buy "Frank Sinatra the New Recordings" and am delighted with the money well spent. I also paid about $52 for the Frank Sinatra "Voice On Air" 4 CD set and wish I'd donated the money to charity. The latter has a hideous (and bizarre) black on black cover,  it's in a clunky case, there is too much chatter, the scripted humor is awkward and embarrassing and not funny, and to add insult to injury, they are hawking this as such a fantastic release but I have heard better copies of some of the old radio transcriptions traded between OTR collectors for years. So "Voice On Air" is hugely overrated, whereas "New Recordings" is a sleek, polished, flawless product from the rare color photos, the back cover with its fedora, cigarette in an ashtray and glass of bourbon, (Sinatra trademarks!) to the engrossing 8 page liner notes, to the awesome, brilliant stereo sound. I also like the fact they used some fresh songs that aren't as well known. In a word, "Frank Sinatra The New Recordings" is GREAT!

5 stars
Don't dismiss the Columbia years
By Frank Held on February 3, 2016
Verified Purchase
Like most fans of Mr. Sinatra I am more familiar with his classic songs, like "One for My Baby," "The Lady Is A Tramp," "I Get A Kick Out Of You," "It Happened In Monterey" and more. So it's hard for me to believe that songs like "Feet Of Clay", which I'd never heard Frank sing before (and he does it harmonizing with himself in multi-tracks) could even compete for my attention and affection, but they DO, on this fine offering. There is a clarity of tone to Frank's voice that is, to be blunt, absolutely superior to the slightly ragged edge one heard in his vocalizing from the Capital years onward. Who knew he could sound so pure as he did on Columbia? Up to now, we've never really HEARD that repertoire in the right away. The monaural recordings are abysmal when presented "as is". Thank God someone with some creative imagination and musical ability had the foresight to rescue these treasures and really make them shine. Otherwise we would have missed a significant part of Frank Sinatra's recording career. I think this can only help the Sinatra legacy by exposing new fans to his music, with this "fresh" material, and the Sinatra family should be buying up copies to help promote this CD instead of sitting by while crazy surrogates attack it and the producer with juvenile posts on the web filled with lies.

5 stars
CAPITAL NEEDS TO PAY ATTENTION TO HOW A CD SHOULD BE DONE
By Boston Audiophile on February 21, 2016
Verified Purchase
I admit I approached "Frank Sinatra: The NEw Recordings" with considerable trepidation. Since around 1960, so few of Sinatra's best performances have been available in optimum sound quality in any format. Capital has reprocessed the original masters by adding echo, clumsy equalization, fake stereo. Around 1987 when Mr. S's Capitol catalog first started getting released on CD, mastering engineer Larry Walsh did a reasonable job, given the technology was in its infancy, and also given the wrong tapes he was working with and dimwitted instructions given to him. Mr. Walsh requited himself nicely on "Capitol Collectors Series" and the 3CD "The Capitol Years," by relying on genuine 1950s masters. Then to most fans' chagrin, in the 1990s, Sinatra releases were put in the hands of Bob Norberg, who seems more interested in applying his own interpretation of the material than in giving us more faithful reproductions of the original recordings. The "Entertainer of the Century" and "Concepts" projects were an abomination, compounded only by their re-release on the "Classic Sinatra" CD. The tracks were REALLY awful, with Frank's voice under layers of reverb, heavy-handed noise reduction that has thrown out the baby with the bath water, and subduing the upper frequencies in a vainglorious attempt to suppress tape hiss. Only "Classic Sinatra II" (with Larry Walsh as mastering engineer) rescued those tracks.

SO.....given this history of botched releases, I wasn't expecting much when I heard that some musicians from today had been hired to take old Columbia masters by Sinatra and bring them up to snuff. But to my amazement, everything about "Frank Sinatra: The New Recordings" is superbly well done. EVERYTHING. Each song has been lovingly, carefully, augmented by just the right amount of new music to add depth to the sound. It is full and rich and simply amazing. Hats off to the producer, Larry Jordan, and the mastering engineer, Richard Moore...two talented guys. I hope Capital makes them an offer to bring them on board so we don't have any more dreadful "official" Sinatra CDs. These two fellows are without equal. And I speak as someone who spent 27 years in the music biz.....

2 stars
I don't like this
By Randy Lowe on March 11, 2016
I listened to the samples online. UGH! Horrible. Never cared for Frank's Columbia material and I like it even less now. I don't even know why I am giving it 2 stars except I realize a lot of work went into this. But it's not for me.

5 stars
Credit where credit is due
By EMILIANO on March 9, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sinatraphiles have always given Sinatra arrangers/conductors Riddle, Jenkins, and May credit for his sound, but Axel Stordahl, who worked with Frank during the Columbia years (and occasionally beyond), was referred to as the "granddaddy of all arrangers" by Mr. Sinatra himself. Mr. Stordahl is the one, more than any of the others, who helped put Frank on an upward trajectory and build his confidence as a singer in his earlier years. Axel was an enormously talented arranger who knew how to compliment Sinatra's singing in a musical context that was often sublime. The fact he has been so unfairly overlooked and uncredited is a disgrace. So I am glad that "Frank Sinatra The New Recordings" exists because they have had new musicians play the same charts (but in stereo) to bring out the sheer beauty of Mr. Stordahl's incredible arrangements. It's not just Frank who is revealed here as singing better than we thought he did in the Columbia years (because we can now hear him so much clearer)....it's also Axel Stordahl who shines on this release!

5 stars
I agree with Nancy Sinatra
By Stephanie Ludwig
Verified Purchase
I don't know if any members of the Sinatra family have listened to this fine CD or not, but I hope they do. I remember reading that Nancy Sinatra commented that the Columbia songs were among her favorites because those were the ones she remembers her dad singing around the house when she was growing up. To now have them re-issued in this new, improved format is a thrill for any Sinatra fan who will approach this with an open mind. Trust me. You can hear Frank better than ever before, and the musicl that surrounds him is simply glorious. Very highly recommended!!!!!


4 stars
These songs literally brought tears to my eyes
By Dianne Samuels on March 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
This CD touched me like no other music has in a long, long time. I was not prepared for what I was hearing. I always thought Frank Sinatra's early years will filled with novelty songs for the bobby-soxers. Not so. He was singing some truly elegant songs and they are dreamy and romantic, the way he croons them. The music setting support his rich voice so well it becomes an emotional experience to listen to these "New recordings....." I just wish they had done twice as many as they did.

4 stars
Never cared for this kind of music but I liked this CD anyway
By Paul March on February 20, 2015
Verified Purchase
Never cared much for this sort of music; I prefer the swinging Sinatra to the balladier but this is pretty darn good if you like this style. It's a little too schmaltzy for my taste but I'm sure others will eat it up.

5 stars
Ignore the controversy and BUY THIS CD!
Verified Purchase
By Steven Clark on March 17, 2016
You know you've done something truly outstanding when you find your product assailed by some mentally imbalanced, hateful, spiteful, jealous idiots who have been smearing this CD all over the web and calling it "bootleg" and "illegal" and that it "drowns out Sinatra's voice." What bullcrap. These comments are obviously part of some vendetta these people have against overdubbing generally and anybody who does them. They are afraid this release is going to be successful so they have gone on a crusade to lie, lie, lie and lie some more about it. I hope the label makes a million dollars on this. It's a very unique and wonderful release that belongs in the collections of all Sinatra fans who appreciate good music. Disregard the loony tunes posters or you will be depriving yourself of an opportunity to really enjoy one of the finest albums to ever be put out on ole blue eyes!!!

5 stars
The New Recordings
By Ray Pietrorazio on March 24, 2016
All the learned comments about the musicality concerning this album are fine and well-taken, but to me it all points to one thing: the genius of Frank Sinatra. The VOICE, the absolutely fantastic talent of a dedicated singer, the care and respect for the song, all make the man who, in my opinion, will never be equaled. I'm not a musician, or a singer or dancer, but through his music I've come to love a man I never had the good fortune to meet. One could write here forever, but what can you say about some who was and is, the very best.

CLICK HERE TO RETURN TO PREVIOUS PAGE
TO WRITE A REVIEW, CLICK HERE to send your comments via email for posting here